Grewed on the Shores of the Chesapeake Bay

Grewed on the Shores of the Chesapeake Bay

Welcome. This is my first time having a blog and this is my second post.

photo

Goal: I am going to record nature and how I interact with it through a year. I am starting in the middle of July, the peak of summer. Right now I know only a few bird calls but I am planning to get better. Will I be able to embed audio on WordPress? I hope to. I can identify a number of trees. Today I am starting you off with an image of my baby. It is a baby tree! I “planted” it in the beginning of March. It was my second attempt. The first began in December and did alright, although grew even more slowly than this slow as can be baby has. Less sunlight equals slower avocado growth. I caved in to concern over just how long a baby tree ought to enjoy the life aquatic. In February I potted it in some dirt and it promptly turned brown and died. The internet gives extremely varied advice but my grandmother “raised” avocados for years in Maryland and was largely successful. She even transplanted some to the ground! She would cover them in the winter while she went to party in Florida and would bring back photos so the avocados could see their motherland. They never produced fruit but were otherwise uncomplaining and not dead.

She says to leave the avocado in the water until the cup doesn’t have any more space for the fat ugly twisted taproot. Then it can begin its terrestrial life.

This little baby went with me shortly after it began its wet incubation to live on the Eastern Shore. I was working at an Outdoor School and teaching kids to know and love the heck out of all the things living and growing around us. I moved back to what I learned to call the Western Shore in June, but accidentally left the baby behind! Bad mama. I moved out in a rainstorm with a terrible hangover and was a little distracted by leaving behind some seriously wonderful people. My housemates took good care of this little one while I was gone and even very generously filled the cup with beer for an unspecified length of time. I returned to work there for 2 weeks in July and dang if this plant didn’t get something it was waiting for in the meantime, possibly a local brew. That leaf would have been hard to see with a magnifying glass when I left, and two weeks later it was just as leafy as could be.

I am about to go on vacation for another couple weeks and the baby will be alone this time. I hope it won’t be expecting to party in my absence.

photo copy

To Grow your own Avocado Tree:
Buy and eat a yummy avocado.
De-gunk and save the pit!
Gather 3-4 toothpicks and a cup, I like for it to be clear so that I can see the action.
Place toothpicks into the center of the avocado so that they stick out from it on a horizontal plane.
Place toothpicks over the edge of a cup so that the point of the pit is up. I am not sure if it will sprout either way and I may experiment soon, but this is the way I know will work.
Fill the cup with water to the top so that the avocado pit is half submerged.
Place in a sunny spot.
Maintain water level and occasionally change the water.
Beer optional.

This wiki has some helpful images but shows planting the sprout at what I think is far too early a stage: http://www.wikihow.com/Plant-an-Avocado-Tree

By the way, the internet really advocates pruning the baby tree sprout. My grandmother with all of her success had never heard of doing that, and my one attempt ended with a tragic baby tree death.

2 Comments

July 21, 2013 · 8:07 pm

2 responses to “Grewed on the Shores of the Chesapeake Bay

  1. Pingback: Adventures in my own Backyard | everycreepingthing

  2. Pingback: 2013 in Nature Blogging | everycreepingthing

Leave a Reply

