Creeping

I have moved south, although I am still in Maryland (jusssst barely). It has been a rough and long winter for this fair state. A bright spot in my new world is the discovery that my yard backs up to a forested park with a stream (the Northwest Branch of the Anacostia River). The first time I walked down the path I heard the rattling call of a Belted Kingfisher as it flew along the bank. With the steam rising, and on a warmer day, it was like stepping into a prehistoric world.

Image

Today there are 6 inches of snow on the ground, so a very unusual St Patrick’s Day to you. The day before all the snow, lying on my mattress and gazing out my window into the trees, I saw four different species of woodpecker. In a 20 minute timeframe. Are you seriously telling me I am practically in the city right now? One was my old fav, the Pileated. I also saw the more frequently heard Red Bellied, and I even was so lucky to see a Downy Woodpecker and a Hairy Woodpecker next to each other on the same tree. For the non-bird-nerd, those two look nearly identical, but the Hairy is much bigger with quite a long bill, so side by side the contrast was super clear.

It is a delight, and although today was wintry as all shizzle, a snow day I mostly spent watching Beyonce documentaries, there is hope for spring. It just might bring more reasons for blogging along with it.  Life truly is but a dream.

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Birdies, Seasons

One response to “Creeping

  1. Amelia

    that last line!

Leave a Reply

