The (Actual) Last Monarch of 2014

It has been a really special butterfly season. I am thankful for all the fruits Wild Peace Farm has brought into local lives, and particularly for the Monarchs that have touched hearts and souls and eyeballs. The first Monarch friend I made came out of his egg before my eyes in July. This, the last friend, snuck into my house on some Milkweed and surprised me as a 4th instar a week later! He made his chrysalis on my laundry basket while I was in Oregon. And he came out of his chrysalis October 21st, while I was holding the twig I taped him to in my hand, a more beautiful exit than I could have asked for.

DON’T PARTY TOO HARD IN MEXICO GUYS!!!

last clear Monarch chrysalis

last clear Monarch chrysalis

Last Monarch 2014

Last Monarch 2014

1 Comment

Filed under Butterfly, Insects!

One response to “The (Actual) Last Monarch of 2014

  1. Pingback: Whoa Whoa Whoa, How Does a Black Swallowtail Caterpillar Grow? | everycreepingthing

Leave a Reply

